Out For (Blue) Blood

The latest episode of Blue Bloods was on my PVR, so I watched it.  I honestly thought that Jennifer would be on at least one more episode.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with the shameful way Jennifer has been treated by the show/network in relation to her Celiac Disease, please read more here.

I guess the shameful behavior doesn’t stop there.  Granted, I don’t know how this all works: when the episode was taped, etc.

Was this clip in poor taste or was it bad timing?

“Customers don’t want to eat this crap.  Gourmet cheese and GLUTTON-free…whatever!”

“So why don’t you add her menu to yours?  You got regular pizza, you got your hipster stuff.  All your bases are covered, you make a fortune.”

Either way, it makes me wanna barf.

Way to perpetuate the ignorance.

Bye Bye, Blue Bloods!

Sincerely,

Sassy

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Livin' the Gluten-Free Life!

Author:sassyceliac

After countless years of illness and a final plea to my doctor during my third hospital visit in one year, I was told I have Celiac Disease in February 2011, at the age of 29. I have been exploring the world of gluten-free ever since! Of course, Celiac Disease is not the only thing that defines me, though it will be the major topic of this blog. I have also recently graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology and a Minor in Psychology, both of which I am finding helpful in coping with this new dietary restriction and lifestyle. If nothing else, my years of university have made me a great researcher! I own a pug named Wilbur, who is my saving grace! Penelope, a Boston/Frenchy mix, is my newest addition. Dogs are precious...a true example of unconditional love. And as for the rest...I love singing, dancing, fitness, health, farm-fresh foods, cooking, learning, nature, laughter (where would I be without laughter?)...and helping others. If this blog can help even one person in any way, I would be honored :)

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Out For (Blue) Blood”

  1. October 31, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Boycotting Blue Bloods isn’t going to solve any problems. And from what I read in another article Jennifer’s last episode is Nov.2nd. I agree that it is unfair of how she was treated, however, I originally started watching Blue Bloods because of Donnie Wahlberg and then fell in love with the other characters. Now you’re talking about it being unfair to Jennifer for the way she was treated.. but how is it fair to any of the other actors to suffer and be boycotted? They didn’t ask for her to be treated in such ways or treat her in those ways. It’s an issue that should be taken up with production not taken out of the rest of the cast. I hate the fact that “Jackie” won’t be on the show anymore, I loved her character. She and “Danny” had awesome chemistry together and I truly believe they’ll never find another that will be half as good as she was. But truth be told it’s not going to effect my decision to continue watching Blue Bloods. It started with Donnie, it’ll end with Donnie..only way I’ll stop watching is if Donnie leaves the show.

    • October 31, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

      You’re right, me not watching Blue Bloods will do nothing. But personally, I ONLY watched to support Jennifer Esposito as a Celiac actress. Without her there, and with lines like in the above clip which perpetuate ignorance and the damaging idea that gluten-free is “trendy” and “hipster”, there is no reason for me to keep watching the show. I hear enough crap like that in my day to day life that I don’t need to watch it on TV. All I can do is continue to educate and raise awareness. This clip just reminds me of how much work there is to do.

  2. November 11, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    Ill never watch it again. IGNORANCE at its worst! That clip is horrifying. Karma is real BITCH and they will get theirs. Jennifer will win a lawsuit and move on to something worthy.

Leave a Reply

