Paleo Autoimmune Protocol: What’s next for Sassy!

I wish I could say that a Whole30-type food program (which I endearingly referred to as Sasstember) changed my life, but unfortunately, I enjoyed limited results.

During Sasstember, I started looking into the Paleo Autoimmune Protocol.  As part of my review of Practical Paleo and my continued quest for health and reduced symptoms, I will be following the 30 Day Meal Plan for the Autoimmune Protocol provided in the book.

What does the protocol entail?

In addition to the regular paleo protocol which involves eliminating dairy, grains, legumes, and refined sugar, I have eliminated nightshades, eggs, nuts/seeds, alcohol, and caffeine.  This isn’t MUCH different from what I ended up with in Sasstember, but the elimination of nuts/seeds is definitely new, plus I am even removing BUTTER this time (OH MY!).  I’m also drinking bone broth and my homemade sauerkraut is currently fermenting!

I’m only on day two.

What I like best about this plan is that I have all my meals planned out!  And they all look delicious and exciting, despite the hefty restrictions!  The meal plan takes the guesswork out of it.  There is even a weekly shopping list, so I only get what I need, and nothing will go to waste…I think this will really help out, in the long run!

Some shots of my meals and meal prep so far!

I was able to get mostly high quality meat from The Town Butcher, at fair prices and only in the quantity I required.  I bought some organic veggies, but couldn’t bring myself to pay over $5 for a head of cauliflower LOL  I prioritized with high quality meats and fats/oils, and I feel good about that decision.  I feel confident enough with the meal plan to make modifications when/if I need to, based on food/resource availability.

As usual, I will keep you updated on my progress!

Love,

Sassy

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Livin' the Gluten-Free Life!

Author:sassyceliac

After countless years of illness and a final plea to my doctor during my third hospital visit in one year, I was told I have Celiac Disease in February 2011, at the age of 29. I have been exploring the world of gluten-free ever since! Of course, Celiac Disease is not the only thing that defines me, though it will be the major topic of this blog. I have also recently graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology and a Minor in Psychology, both of which I am finding helpful in coping with this new dietary restriction and lifestyle. If nothing else, my years of university have made me a great researcher! I own a pug named Wilbur, who is my saving grace! Penelope, a Boston/Frenchy mix, is my newest addition. Dogs are precious...a true example of unconditional love. And as for the rest...I love singing, dancing, fitness, health, farm-fresh foods, cooking, learning, nature, laughter (where would I be without laughter?)...and helping others. If this blog can help even one person in any way, I would be honored :)

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol: What’s next for Sassy!”

  1. October 30, 2012 at 5:35 am #

    Good luck! I have celiac disease and have been on the protocol for a few months now. It gets easier the longer you do it! 🙂

    • October 30, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      While getting “easier” is great, the real question is, do you FEEL better????

Leave a Reply

