Turkey Pumpkin “Chili” (nightshade-free and gluten-free; paleo)

 

That’s right…another pumpkin recipe!  What can I say; I love the stuff!  I know not everyone feels the passion for pumpkin that I do, but for those of you who can’t have nightshades, this recipe may just change your mind.

I am still researching the Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, with myself as the test subject.  While I don’t have all the information under my belt, yet, I am still currently following the foods-to-avoid list: no grains, no legumes, no nightshades, no eggs, no nuts/seeds, no dairy, no alcohol.

While I was inspired by the Whole Foods Turkey Pumpkin Chili recipe, I was not sure I’d be able to modify it to be autoimmune-friendly…beans?  Peppers?  Spices?  Tomatoes?

But I managed…and the result was a hearty, satisfying, autumn-inspired, and autoimmune-friendly “chili”.

This will be a great recipe for you to keep on hand for those turkey leftovers at Thanksgiving and Christmas!

I’m not really great at writing up recipes because I tend to not measure things out.  That said, some of the measurements are estimates, but I trust you can “play it by ear”!  This recipe made about 2 servings, but could easily be doubled to make more.  Also, ground turkey could be used if you don’t have turkey leftovers!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 tbsp butter, coconut oil, or EVOO
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, coarsely diced
  • 4-6 mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 medium carrot, diced
  • 1 large kale leaf, coarsely chopped (stem removed)
  • 10 oz cooked turkey meat
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 cup broth (homemade or a gluten-free variety like Kitchen Basics)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • salt & pepper, to taste

Heat butter or oil in a pan, over medium heat.

Add garlic, onion, mushrooms, and carrot and cook until softened (I microwaved the carrot a bit before adding it to the pan, in order to speed up the cooking process).

Add kale and turkey.  Stir in pumpkin and add broth a little at a time, while stirring, until you reach desired consistency.  I find the pumpkin really soaks up the broth!  Add in spices.

That’s really all there is to it!  Modify as necessary, and, of course…ENJOY!

SC

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gluten-Free Recipes

Author:sassyceliac

After countless years of illness and a final plea to my doctor during my third hospital visit in one year, I was told I have Celiac Disease in February 2011, at the age of 29. I have been exploring the world of gluten-free ever since! Of course, Celiac Disease is not the only thing that defines me, though it will be the major topic of this blog. I have also recently graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology and a Minor in Psychology, both of which I am finding helpful in coping with this new dietary restriction and lifestyle. If nothing else, my years of university have made me a great researcher! I own a pug named Wilbur, who is my saving grace! Penelope, a Boston/Frenchy mix, is my newest addition. Dogs are precious...a true example of unconditional love. And as for the rest...I love singing, dancing, fitness, health, farm-fresh foods, cooking, learning, nature, laughter (where would I be without laughter?)...and helping others. If this blog can help even one person in any way, I would be honored :)

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

