Thanksgiving Roundup 2012

What I learned this Thanksgiving:

  • Canada’s Thanksgiving is a celebration of successful harvest!  Our cooler climates call for an earlier harvest, which is why it is weeks before that of our American counterpart’s.
  • Canada and the US are the only countries who celebrate Thanksgiving.
  • A Paleo Thanksgiving can be satisfying, comforting, and doesn’t have to be dull!

This year, Canadian Thanksgiving landed conveniently after my SASSTEMBER 30 day food elimination challenge!  While I did allow myself some indulgences over the long weekend, I prided myself on whipping up a Paleo-inspired Thanksgiving Feast…for one 😉

My house was filled with lovely sights, smells, and the sound of my voice belting out Adele, Pink, Sara Bareilles, and more!

Here’s what was on my menu:

Everything turned out marvellously, and it was a great day all around.  I recommend you try any or all of these recipes for your Thanksgiving or Christmas dinners…they were all keepers!

SC

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gluten-Free Recipes, Livin' the Gluten-Free Life!

Author:sassyceliac

After countless years of illness and a final plea to my doctor during my third hospital visit in one year, I was told I have Celiac Disease in February 2011, at the age of 29. I have been exploring the world of gluten-free ever since! Of course, Celiac Disease is not the only thing that defines me, though it will be the major topic of this blog. I have also recently graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology and a Minor in Psychology, both of which I am finding helpful in coping with this new dietary restriction and lifestyle. If nothing else, my years of university have made me a great researcher! I own a pug named Wilbur, who is my saving grace! Penelope, a Boston/Frenchy mix, is my newest addition. Dogs are precious...a true example of unconditional love. And as for the rest...I love singing, dancing, fitness, health, farm-fresh foods, cooking, learning, nature, laughter (where would I be without laughter?)...and helping others. If this blog can help even one person in any way, I would be honored :)

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Thanksgiving Roundup 2012”

  1. October 11, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    Our Thanksgiving is fast approaching…. I’m still not going to reveal to the inlaws that I’m Celiac…. too many questions and a never ending barrage of “helpful” emails will ensue. I’ll just be careful about what I pick to eat 😉

    • sassyceliac
      October 11, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

      Telling people can be hard (don’t want to be a “burden”, a “bother”, or be the center of attention)…and even downright annoying (everyone has an opinion!). However, I AM concerned that unless you bring your own food, you may have a very hard time avoiding cross-contamination! Personally, I would rather someone know I have Celiac Disease than to think I am a picky eater, but I know everyone is different and it is absolutely important to tell people on your terms. Just make sure you don’t sacrifice your health or well-being…please 🙂 ❤

      • musingsoftheamusingmuse
        October 12, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

        Promise! My own family knows but the inlaws…. not sure when I’ll tell them or if we’ll just say I can’t have wheat, rye and barley. Mother-in-law is…. difficult.

Leave a Reply

