“Tastes Like Fall” Smoothie :) gluten-free, dairy-free

Pumpkin, banana, and pears, OH MY!

I love fall.  The colors of the leaves, the move towards wearing sweaters and boots, the pumpkins, and Halloween.  There’s a different feeling in the air (I know…not for some of you, say, in Florida!).  It’s before our rainy season starts, when we have to do our best to not let depression set in during day after day after day of endless gray.  But for now…it’s still great!

I see…and drool over…a lot of fall baking going on.  In fact, our Thanksgiving is coming up this weekend and people are preparing pumpkin pies and other yummy treats.

I try to keep the treats to a minimum, and since I’m currently grain-free, dairy-free, egg-free, and countless other things-free, I came up with this shake to satisfy my pumpkin-tooth (yes, I swear it exists!).

Ingredients:

1 cup coconut milk, if using carton-variety like Silk True Coconut; ¼ cup coconut milk if using canned

(or preferred milk substitute)

1 cup water, if using carton coconut milk; 1 ¾ cup water, if using canned coconut milk

½ a banana

½ a pear

1/3 cup canned 100% pumpkin

maple syrup

freshly grated ginger (or powdered)

cinnamon

nutmeg

cardamom

pecans (optional)

Optional: protein source (if I could have protein powder or farm fresh eggs right now, I would have tossed in some of either of those)

No, I don’t have exact amounts, because I just play it by ear, for the most part!

And the reason this one looks kind of pretty is that I forgot to add the maple syrup, so I added it afterwards, in a slightly swirly design 😉

Blend everything up in your favorite blender, and there ya have it 🙂  Spicy, pumpkin-y goodness!

SC

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gluten-Free Recipes

Author:sassyceliac

After countless years of illness and a final plea to my doctor during my third hospital visit in one year, I was told I have Celiac Disease in February 2011, at the age of 29. I have been exploring the world of gluten-free ever since! Of course, Celiac Disease is not the only thing that defines me, though it will be the major topic of this blog. I have also recently graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology and a Minor in Psychology, both of which I am finding helpful in coping with this new dietary restriction and lifestyle. If nothing else, my years of university have made me a great researcher! I own a pug named Wilbur, who is my saving grace! Penelope, a Boston/Frenchy mix, is my newest addition. Dogs are precious...a true example of unconditional love. And as for the rest...I love singing, dancing, fitness, health, farm-fresh foods, cooking, learning, nature, laughter (where would I be without laughter?)...and helping others. If this blog can help even one person in any way, I would be honored :)

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on ““Tastes Like Fall” Smoothie :) gluten-free, dairy-free”

  1. October 3, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    Definitely making this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

