31, 536, 000 SECONDS…since diagnosis!

*Please note, I did attempt to write this earlier in the week, but 4 stitches in my fingertip have somewhat interfered with my typing skills.  I’m still having way more typos than usual, but at least I can no longer feel my heartbeat in my finger LOL  Apologies for my tardiness!*

Last Wednesday, September 19th, 2012, was precisely 1 YEAR since my gastroscopy/colonoscopy double-dip combo special…which officially confirmed my Celiac Disease diagnosis!

Yay, me!

I am, in all honesty and seriousness, incredibly thankful for the diagnosis.  I would be a little more celebratory if I felt a little better and if my TTG would get off of its high horse and realize that I have, in fact, completely removed gluten from my diet and it doesn’t have anyone to fight with anymore.  Perhaps then some of my other symptoms would follow suit and they could all ride off together, into the sunset.

A girl can dream.

HOWEVER, there are definitely some positive changes since diagnosis, and that is what I would like to celebrate.

  • I no longer throw up over 1/3 of my meals.  This one is first, as it is one of the most significant.  It also seems to be my tell-tale “I’ve eaten gluten” sign.  When I had to eat gluten for the biopsy, I ate a rye sandwich, and was puking by the time I got home.  I used to work as a bartender and I will never forget how often I had to puke in their less-than-savory facilities when I hadn’t even been drinking.  Private puking is bad enough, but public puking was always the worst.  I chose family bathrooms or bathrooms for persons with disabilities whenever possible, especially when separated from the usual stall-by-stall.  I’ve gone from puking on a daily basis to maybe a couple of times a month.  Vast improvement.
  • I no longer “eat and run”.  I’m not sure how else to put it, but I’m sure you all know what I mean.  Sometimes, I would no sooner swallow a bite of food and I’d be running for the bathroom.  I remember it happening at Macaroni Grill…of course, it only NOW makes sense.  It would happen when I would sit down for class, and always when I was writing a final exam.  That’s one reason I attributed my symptoms to “stress belly” or IBS.  I also remember agonizing nights spent in the washroom with very little sleep, even when I was working out every day and eating such (seemingly) healthy food.
  • I haven’t had “food poisoning” that lands me in the hospital in over a year.  I think that says it all.  It happened three times in the year leading up to my diagnosis.  I missed a lot of school, work, and life.
  • Surgery fixed my bum.  Some of the damage done by gluten was corrected, and should not be a problem again!
  • I am at a “healthy” weight.  I’m not currently thrilled about my body, but I know that I was previously underweight.  During the last bout of “food poisoning”, I dropped a LOT of weight from my already small frame.  I had bruises on the backs of my legs from all my trips to the toilet and on my hips just from lying in bed.  Even my Lululemons were fitting loosely.  I’m definitely absorbing nutrients now, and figuring out how to eat accordingly.  I can no longer eat whatever I want and not gain weight, but I know I’ll find what works for me.  Oh, and I finally have BOOBS!  LOL

And, of course, all the wonderful, marvelous, fabulous people I have met within the Celiac (and related) community.  I LOVE YOU ALL!  Unfortunately, my current symptoms are presently taking over, and I can’t quite think of any more big changes, but these ones are the most predominant.  And for those, I am thankful.

I have Celiac Disease. 

I have to eat gluten-free.

I know that.

That’s something.

SC

PS:  Think you might have Celiac Disease?  GET TESTED!  

 

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Livin' the Gluten-Free Life!

Author:sassyceliac

After countless years of illness and a final plea to my doctor during my third hospital visit in one year, I was told I have Celiac Disease in February 2011, at the age of 29. I have been exploring the world of gluten-free ever since! Of course, Celiac Disease is not the only thing that defines me, though it will be the major topic of this blog. I have also recently graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology and a Minor in Psychology, both of which I am finding helpful in coping with this new dietary restriction and lifestyle. If nothing else, my years of university have made me a great researcher! I own a pug named Wilbur, who is my saving grace! Penelope, a Boston/Frenchy mix, is my newest addition. Dogs are precious...a true example of unconditional love. And as for the rest...I love singing, dancing, fitness, health, farm-fresh foods, cooking, learning, nature, laughter (where would I be without laughter?)...and helping others. If this blog can help even one person in any way, I would be honored :)

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “31, 536, 000 SECONDS…since diagnosis!”

  1. September 25, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Do I congratulate you? Send my condolences? Wish you a happy anniversary?

    How about this? I’m so sorry you suffered and that you continue to struggle.

    But I’m so glad I’ve met you!

    • September 25, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      That’s pretty perfect…Thanks for understanding, Gluten Dude!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. September 29, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Congrats on the diagnosis! My husband was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis 3.5 years ago. The lead-up to the diagnosis was awful as we didn’t know what it was and the doctor told us to be prepared for bad news. So when we got the diagnosis, we were relieved. But then the diseases really took hold, and it was a long road to his recovery. Have you heard of the SCD diet? We did that for over a year, and it made SUCH a difference. We have now pinpointed that my husband’s flares stem from a combination of stress and food. So it’s all about management. Anyway, it was nice to read something from someone who semi understands what we’ve been through. Obviously the diseases are quite different, but you know what I mean.

    I’m glad I found your blog!

    • October 3, 2012 at 8:58 am #

      Thank you for your comment! Yes, it is a relief to have a diagnosis, but so frustrating that the diagnosis almost seems to be just the beginning, instead of the “solution” I was hoping for! I’m still having many problems, myself, and in many ways am doing worse than before diagnosis. It’s tough to swallow. I have heard of SCD. I have heard many people have had success with it, so I will look into it further if I don’t see improvements with my current new restrictions.

      I’m glad you found me, too!!!
      hugs

Leave a Reply

